

NATIONAL PARLIAMENT OF SOLOMON ISLANDS

<u>ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT – FIRST SESSION – FIRST MEETING</u>

MINUTES

No. 4

Thursday 6 June 2019

NP/05/1/11

The Speaker took the Chair at 10:05 a.m.

Prayers were said by the Clerk.

The following Members were:

Present: Hon. Peter Shanel Agovaka

Hon. Chachabule Rebi Amoi

Hon. Ishmael Mali Avui

Hon. Douglas Ete

Hon. Titus Mokofi Fika

Hon. Levi Senley Filualea

Hon. Jackson Fiulaua

Hon. John Moffat Fugui

Hon. Robertson E. Galokale

Hon. Nestor Giro

Hon. Rick Nelson Houenipwela

Hon. Shemuel Sam Iduri

Hon. Dr Tautai Agikimua Kaituu

Hon. Martin Mokolo Kealoe

Hon. Peter Kenilorea (Jnr)

Hon. Frederick Kologeto

Hon. Duddley Kopu

Hon. John Deane Kuku

Hon. Harry Kuma

Hon. Christopher Laore

Hon. Charles Jordan Maefai

Hon. Manasseh Maelanga

Hon. Augustine Auga Maeue

Hon. Samson Maneka

Hon. Jeremiah Manele

Hon. John Maneniaru

Hon. Samuel Manetoali

Hon. Derick Rawcliff Manu'ari

Hon. William Bradford Marau

Hon. Commins Aston Mewa

Hon. Dickson Panakitasi Mua

Hon. Bartholomew Parapolo

Hon. Rexon Annex Ramofafia

Hon. Clezy C. Rore

Hon. Rollen Seleso

Hon. Stanley Festus Sofu

Hon. Manasseh Damukana Sogavare

Hon. Freda A. B. Tuki Soriacomua

Hon. Makario Tagini

Hon. Lanelle Olandrea Tanangada

Hon. Silas Kerry Vaqara Tausinga

Hon. Dr Culwick Togamana

Hon. Bradley Tovosia

Hon. Namson Tran

Hon. Anthony Kamutulaka Veke

Hon. Jaimie Vokia

Hon. Matthew Cooper Wale

Absent: Hon. Heinz Horst Bodo Dettke

Hon. Danny Philp

Hon. Charles Sigoto

In attendance: Mr John Muria, Attorney General

ELECTION OF GOVERNOR-GENERAL

The Clerk announced that on Tuesday 4 June 2019 the House had agreed to hold the election of the Governor-General today, Thursday 6 June 2019.

At the closure of nominations at 4:00 p.m. on Wednesday 5 June 2019, the Office of the Clerk received only one nomination for the election of the Governor-General designate.

Therefore, pursuant to Standing Order 76 and Standing Order 5 of the National Parliament of Solomon Islands, the Clerk declared that the Most Reverend David Vunagi had been duly elected unopposed as the Governor-General designate.

STATEMENT BY THE PRIME MINISTER

The Prime Minister made the following statement:

"We, the National Parliament of Solomon Islands here assembled, wish to inform Your Majesty that following an election on [Thursday 6 June 2019], the Most Reverend David Vunagi was elected by Parliament to be the next Governor-General designate of Solomon Islands, and, in accordance with Section 27 (1) of the Constitution of Solomon Islands 1978, humbly request Your Majesty to appoint the person so elected to the office of the Governor-General of Solomon Islands at the expiry of the term of office of the incumbent Governor-General."

The Prime Minister further added a few remarks.

The Speaker allowed only the Leader of Opposition and the Leader of the Independent Group to contribute to the statement made by the Prime Minister.

MOTIONS

Motion No. 2 – Sine Die

Hon. Manasseh Sogavare, Prime Minister had moved:

"That at the adjournment of Parliament on Thursday 6th June 2019, the present meeting shall be concluded and Parliament shall then stand adjourned *sine die.*"

Debate on the motion continued and the following members contributed:

Hon. Douglas Ete - MP for East Honiara

Hon. Frederick Kologeto - Minister for Public Service & MP for South Vella La Vella

Hon. Rexon Annex Ramofafia - MP for Fataleka

Hon. John Moffat Fugui - MP for Central Honiara

Hon. Harry Kuma - Minister for Finance and Treasury & MP for North West

Choiseul

Parliament suspended at 12:30 p.m. until 2:00 p.m.

Parliament resumed at 2:09 p.m.

Debate on the motion continued and the following members contributed:

Hon. Anthony Veke - Minister for Provincial Government and Institutional

Strengthening & MP for West Guadalcanal

Hon. Jeremiah Manele Minister for Foreign Affairs and External Trade & MP for

Hograno/Kia/Havulei

Hon. Dickson Mua Minister for Health and Medical Services & MP for

Savo/Russells

Hon. Ishmael Mali Avui Minister for Forestry and Research & MP for East Central

Guadalcanal

Hon. Charles Jordan Maefai MP for East Makira

Hon. Commins Aston Mewa MP for Temotu Nende

At 4:30pm the Prime Minister moved "that Standing Order 10 be suspended in accordance with Standing Order 81 to permit the continuation of the business of the House until adjourned by the Speaker in accordance with Standing Order 10(5)."

Question put and passed.

Debate on the motion continued and the following members contributed:

Hon. Rick Houenipwela Minister for National Development Planning and

Coordination & MP for Small Malaita

Hon. Samson Maneka MP for North Guadalcanal

Minister for Lands, Housing and Survey & MP for Ulawa/Ugi Hon. William Bradford Marau -

Point of order by the Speaker who asked the MP for Ulawa/Ugi to restrict his contributions to his relevant portfolio as Minister for Lands, Housing and Survey and not to delve into issues that regarded the Ministry of Commerce, Industries, Labour and Immigration. The Speaker stated that the Minister for Commerce, Industries, Labour and Immigration had already spoken on the motion and just in case questions were raised which pertained to the MP for Ulawa/Ugi's contributions, it might have caused uncertainty as to who would address such issues if they were needed to be clarified further.

The MP for Ulawa/Ugi continued and concluded his remarks.

Debate on the motion continued and the following members contributed:

Minister for Communication and Aviation & MP for Central Hon. Peter Shanel Agovaka

Guadalcanal

Hon. Bartholomew Parapolo Minister for Culture and Tourism & MP for Ngella

Hon. John Maneniaru Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Fisheries and Marine

Resources & MP for West Are'are

Hon. Robertson Galokale Leader of the Independent Group & MP for South Choiseul Point of order by Hon. Peter Shanel Agovaka who stated that if the Leader of the Independent Group had any allegations about former members, there was a platform for that which he could use but he

should not have raised it here in Parliament.

The Speaker ruled that whilst the observations that had been made by the Leader of the Independent Group were not aimed towards a particular person and were rather generalised, there were restrictions which the Standing Orders provided for in terms of the centent that the Leader had raised during his

which the Standing Orders provided for in terms of the content that the Leader had raised during his contribution to the motion. The Speaker asked the Leader of the Independent Group to bear the

concerns raised in mind, before he gave the floor back to the Leader.

The Leader of the Independent Group continued with his remarks.

The Speaker asked the Leader of the Independent Group to conclude his remarks to allow the Prime

Minister to wind up the debate.

The Leader of the Independent Group concluded his remarks.

The Prime Minister delivered his speech in reply.

Question put and passed.

Before he adjourned Parliament the Speaker advised the House that with particular reference to Standing Orders 32 and 34, he had taken into account the observations raised in relation to the substance and duration of statements. He stated that he had noted the concerns made and wanted to make mention of such just in case something may be done in terms of consultations.

,

ADJOURNMENT

The Speaker adjourned Parliament sine-die in accordance with the earlier resolution of the House and

pursuant to Standing Order 10(5) at 8:07 p.m.

Confirmed

Mr Patteson John Oti Speaker of National Parliament

6 June 2019

5