

NATIONAL PARLIAMENT OF SOLOMON ISLANDS

<u>ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT – FIRST SESSION – FIRST MEETING</u>

MINUTES

No. 3

Wednesday 5 June 2019

NP/05/1/11

The Speaker took the Chair at 9:47 a.m.

Prayers were said by the Clerk.

The following Members were:

Present: Hon. Peter Shanel Agovaka

Hon. Chachabule Rebi Amoi

Hon. Ishmael Mali Avui

Hon. Douglas Ete

Hon. Titus Mokofi Fika

Hon. Levi Senley Filualea

Hon. Jackson Fiulaua

Hon. John Moffat Fugui

Hon. Robertson E. Galokale

Hon. Nestor Giro

Hon. Rick Nelson Houenipwela

Hon. Dr Tautai Agikimua Kaituu

Hon. Peter Kenilorea (Jnr)

Hon. Frederick Kologeto

Hon. Duddley Kopu

Hon. John Deane Kuku

Hon. Harry Kuma

Hon. Charles Jordan Maefai

Hon. Manasseh Maelanga

Hon. Augustine Auga Maeue

Hon. Samson Maneka

Hon. Jeremiah Manele

Hon. John Maneniaru

Hon. Samuel Manetoali

Hon. Derick Rawcliff Manu'ari

Hon. William Bradford Marau

Hon. Commins Aston Mewa

Hon. Dickson Panakitasi Mua

Hon. Bartholomew Parapolo

Hon. Danny Philip

Hon. Rexon Annex Ramofafia

Hon. Clezy C. Rore

Hon. Rollen Seleso

Hon. Charles Sigoto

Hon. Stanley Festus Sofu

Hon. Manasseh Damukana Sogavare

Hon. Freda A.B. Tuki Soriacomua

Hon. Makario Tagini

Hon. Lanelle Olandrea Tanangada

Hon. Dr Culwick Togamana

Hon. Bradley Tovosia

Hon. Namson Tran

Hon. Anthony Kamutulaka Veke

Hon. Jaimie Vokia

Hon. Matthew Cooper Wale

Absent: Hon. Heinz Horst Bodo Dettke

Hon. Shemuel Sam Iduri

Hon. Martin Mokolo Kealoe

Hon. Christopher Laore

Hon. Silas Kerry Vaqara Tausinga

MOTIONS

Motion No. 2 - Sine Die

Hon. Manasseh Sogavare, Prime Minister had moved:

"That at the adjournment of Parliament on Thursday 6th June 2019, the present meeting shall be concluded and Parliament shall then stand adjourned *sine die.*"

Debate on the motion continued and the following member contributed:

Hon. Freda Tuki Soriacomua - Minister for Women, Youth, Children and Family Affairs & MP for Temotu Vatud

The Speaker made a ruling, reminding members of Standing Order 36 (2) which restricts references to cases which are pending in a court of law.

Debate continued and the following members contributed:

Hon. Makario TaginiMP for Baegu/AsifolaHon. Rollen SelesoMP for South Guadalcanal

Hon. Danny Philip - MP for South New Georgia/Rendova/Tetepare

Hon. Augustine Auga Maeue - Minister for Agriculture and Livestock Development & MP

for Lau/Mbaelelea

Hon. Duddley Kopu - Minister for Rural Development & MP for Temotu Pele

Hon. Dr Tautai Kaituu - Minister for Justice and Legal Affairs & MP for

Rennell/Bellona

Hon. Samuel Manetoali - Minister for Traditional Governance, Peace and Ecclesiastical

Affairs & MP for Gao/Bugotu

Hon. Stanley Festus Sofu - Deputy Speaker & MP for East Kwaio

Hon. John Deane Kuku - Minister for Education and Human Resources Development

& MP for North New Georgia

Parliament suspended at 12:20 p.m. until 2:00 p.m.

Parliament resumed at 2:15 p.m.

Debate on the motion continued and the following members contributed:

Hon. Chachabule Rebi Amoi
Hon. Titus Mokofi Fika
MP for Marovo
MP for West Kwaio
Hon. Nestor Giro
MP for Central Makira

Hon. Lanelle Tanangada - Minister for Police, National Security and Correctional

Services & MP for Gizo/Kolombangara

Hon. Bradley Tovosia - Minister for Mines, Energy and Rural Electrification & MP for

East Guadalcanal

Hon. Derick Manu'ari - MP for West Makira

Hon. Clezy Rore - Minister for Commerce, Industries, Labour and Immigration

& MP for North Vella La Vella

The Prime Minister moved:

"That the debate on the question be now adjourned until the next sitting day."

Question put and passed.

ADJOURNMENT

The	Prime	Minister	moved:
1110	1 111111	willingter	moveu.

"That Parliament do now adjourn."

Question put and passed.

Parliament adjourned at 4:00 p.m. until 9:30 a.m. on Thursday 6 June 2019.

Confirmed

Mr Patteson John Oti <u>Speaker of National Parliament</u>

5 June 2019