

NATIONAL PARLIAMENT OF SOLOMON ISLANDS

<u>ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT – FIRST SESSION – FIRST MEETING</u>

MINUTES

No. 2

Tuesday 4 June 2019

NP/05/1/11

The Speaker took the Chair at 9:57 a.m.

Prayers were said by the Clerk.

The following Members were:

Present: Hon. Peter Shanel Agovaka

Hon. Chachabule Rebi Amoi

Hon. Ishmael Mali Avui

Hon. Heinz Horst Bodo Dettke

Hon. Douglas Ete

Hon. Titus Mokofi Fika

Hon. Levi Senley Filualea

Hon. Jackson Fiulaua

Hon. John Moffat Fugui

Hon. Robertson E. Galokale

Hon. Nestor Giro

Hon. Rick Nelson Houenipwela

Hon. Dr Tautai Agikimua Kaituu

Hon. Martin Mokolo Kealoe

Hon. Peter Kenilorea (Jnr)

Hon. Frederick Kologeto

Hon. Duddley Kopu

Hon. John Deane Kuku

Hon. Harry Kuma

Hon. Charles Jordan Maefai

Hon. Manasseh Maelanga

Hon. Augustine Auga Maeue

Hon. Samson Maneka

Hon. Jeremiah Manele

Hon. John Maneniaru

Hon. Samuel Manetoali

Hon. Derick Rawcliff Manu'ari

Hon. Commins Aston Mewa

Hon. Dickson Panakitasi Mua

Hon. Bartholomew Parapolo

Hon. Rexon Annex Ramofafia

Hon. Clezy C. Rore

Hon. Rollen Seleso

Hon. Charles Sigoto

Hon. Stanley Festus Sofu

Hon. Manasseh Damukana Sogavare

Hon. Freda A. B. Tuki Soriacomua

Hon. Makario Tagini

Hon. Lanelle Olandrea Tanangada

Hon. Silas Kerry Vaqara Tausinga

Hon. Dr Culwick Togamana

Hon. Bradley Tovosia

Hon. Namson Tran

Hon. Anthony Kamutulaka Veke

Hon. Jaimie Vokia

Hon. Matthew Cooper Wale

Absent: Hon. Shemuel Sam Iduri

Hon. Christopher Laore

Hon. William Bradford Marau

Hon. Danny Philip

In attendance: Mr. John Muria, Attorney General

ADMINISTRATION OF OATHS

Hon. Bartholomew Parapolo and Hon. Dr Culwick Togamana took their Oaths before Parliament.

READING BY THE SPEAKER OF MESSAGES AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Speaker gave his congratulatory remarks to the Members of Parliament and reminded them of their mandated roles as representatives and decision makers of national interest.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND OF REPORTS

Mr. Patteson John Oti, Speaker of National Parliament presented the following papers:

Performance Audit Report on the Solomon Islands Government's Preparedness for Implementation of Sustainable Development Goals.

(National Parliament Paper No.53 of 2018).

Performance Audit Report on Preventing Corruption through effective Institutional Framework at the National Level and in the Management and Distribution of Medical Supplies. (National Parliament Paper No.1 of 2019).

2018 Audit Report on State Owned Enterprises and Statutory Authorities. (*National Parliament Paper No.2 of 2019*).

SAI Performance Report for Office of the Auditor General of Solomon Islands. (*National Parliament Paper No.3 of 2019*).

Mr. David Kusilifu, Clerk to National Parliament presented the following paper:

Telecommunication Commission Solomon Islands Annual Report 2018. (*National Parliament Paper No.6 of 2019*).

STATEMENT OF GOVERNMENT BUSINESS for the week ending Friday 7 June 2019 was announced by the Prime Minister.

MOTIONS

Motion No. 1 - Date for Election of Governor-General

Hon. Manasseh Sogavare, Prime Minister moved:

"That for the purpose of Section 27 of the Constitution and pursuant to Standing Order 76, the selection of the Governor-General designate be carried out by way of an election on Thursday 6th June 2019 in Parliament, in accordance with the procedure set out in Standing Order 5, as read with Standing Order 76."

The Prime Minister made his remarks.

Before opening the floor for debate, the Speaker made a ruling regarding Standing Order 76 which required a three clear day's nomination period prior to the date fixed for the election. He stated that the motion which was being moved by the Prime Minister would grant only a one day nomination period instead of the required three days nomination period. He further added that if the motion was to be carried, in effect

of that, the nomination period would be waived without a need to move a separate motion to suspend Standing Order 76.

According to Standing Order 81 a motion which has the effect of suspending a Standing Order shall not be moved except after notice or with the consent of the Speaker, and thus he was of the opinion that the course of action that was being taken was in order.

Debate ensued and the following members contributed:

Hon. Matthew Wale - Leader of Opposition & MP for Aoke/Langalanga

Hon. Robertson Galokale - Leader of the Independent Group & MP for South Choiseul

The Prime Minister wound up the debate.

Question put and passed.

Motion No. 2 - Sine Die

The Prime Minister sought leave to suspend Standing Order 26(1) in accordance with Standing Order 81.

Leave was granted.

The Prime Minister moved that Standing Order 26(1) be suspended in accordance with Standing Order 81 to permit the *sine die* motion to be moved today.

The Prime Minister made his remarks.

Debate ensued and the following member contributed:

Hon. Matthew Wale - Leader of Opposition & MP for Aoke/Langalanga

Question put and passed.

Hon. Manasseh Sogavare, Prime Minister moved:

"That at the adjournment of Parliament on Thursday 6th June 2019, the present meeting shall be concluded and Parliament shall then stand adjourned *sine die.*"

The Prime Minister made his remarks.

Debate ensued and the following member contributed:

Hon. Matthew Wale - Leader of Opposition & MP for Aoke/Langalanga

Parliament suspended at 12:20 p.m. until 2:00 p.m.

Parliament resumed at 2:01 p.m.

Debate continued and the following members contributed:

Hon. Jaimie Vokia - MP for North East Guadalcanal

Hon. Levi Senley Filualea - MP for North Malaita

Hon. Manasseh Maelanga - Minister for Infrastructure Development & MP for East

Malaita

Hon. Peter Kenilorea (Jnr) - MP for East Are'are

The Speaker made a ruling to remind members of Standing Order 32 (1) which states that during debates, all observations shall be addressed to the Speaker.

Hon. Peter Kenilorea (Jnr) continued and concluded his remarks.

Debate continued and the following member contributed:

Hon. Jackson Fiulaua - MP for Central Kwara'ae

The Deputy Prime Minister moved:

"That the debate on the question be now adjourned until the next sitting day."

Question put and passed.

ADJOURNMENT

The Deputy Prime Minister moved:

"That Parliament do now adjourn."

Question put and passed.

Parliament adjourned at 4:17 p.m. until 9:30 a.m. on Wednesday 5 June 2019.

Confirmed

Mr Patteson John Oti Speaker of National Parliament

4 June 2019