

NATIONAL PARLIAMENT OF SOLOMON ISLANDS

<u>ELEVENTH PARLIAMENT – FIRST SESSION – FIRST MEETING</u>

MINUTES

No. 1

Wednesday 15 May 2019

NP/05/1/11

The Speaker took the Chair at 10:17 a.m.

Prayers were said by the Clerk.

The following Members were:

Present: Hon. Peter Shanel Agovaka

Hon. Chachabule Rebi Amoi

Hon. Ishmael Mali Avui

Hon. Heinz Horst Bodo Dettke

Hon. Douglas Ete

Hon. Titus Mokofi Fika

Hon. Levi Senley Filualea

Hon. Jackson Fiulaua

Hon. John Moffat Fugui

Hon. Robertson E. Galokale

Hon. Nestor Giro

Hon. Rick Nelson Houenipwela

Hon. Sam Shemuel Iduri

Hon. Dr Tautai Agikimua Kaituu

Hon. Martin Mokolo Kealoe

Hon. Peter Kenilorea Jnr.

Hon. Frederick Kologeto

Hon. Duddley Kopu

Hon. John Deane Kuku

Hon. Harry Kuma

Hon. Christopher Laore

Hon. Charles Jordan Maefai

Hon. Manasseh Maelanga

Hon. Augustine Auga Maeue

Hon. Samson Maneka

Hon. Jeremiah Manele

Hon. John Maneniaru

Hon. Samuel Manetoali

Hon. Derick Rawcliff Manu'ari

Hon. William Bradford Marau

Hon. Commins Aston Mewa

Hon. Dickson Panakitasi Mua

Hon. Danny Philip

Hon. Rexon Annex Ramofafia

Hon. Clezy C. Rore

Hon. Rollen Seleso

Hon. Charles Sigoto

Hon. Stanley Festus Sofu

Hon. Manasseh Damukana Sogavare

Hon. Freda A.B. Tuki Soriacomua

Hon. Makario Tagini

Hon. Lanelle Olandrea Tanangada

Hon. Silas Kerry Vaqara Tausinga

Hon. Bradley Tovosia

Hon. Namson Tran

Hon. Anthony Kamutulaka Veke

Hon. Jaimie Vokia

Hon. Matthew Cooper Wale

Absent: Hon. Bartholomew Parapolo

Hon. Dr Culwick Togamana

In attendance: Mr John Muria, Attorney General

ADMINISTRATION OF OATHS

The Speaker congratulated the members of the 11th Parliament and welcomed them to the first sitting. Before calling on the Clerk to administer the Oath of Allegiance, the Speaker briefly made a statement regarding the process and purpose of making an Oath.

The Clerk then announced that he had received notification from the Solomon Islands Electoral Commission, pursuant to Section 107 (1) (a) of the Electoral Act 2018 advising of the names of the persons duly elected at the last general elections held on 3 April 2019. This notice was also published in the Solomon Islands Gazette as Gazette Notice No.57 of 2019.

By virtue of Standing Order 2 (2), the Clerk administered the oath of allegiance in accordance with section 63 and Schedule 1 of the *Constitution*.

48 members of Parliament took their oath.

READING BY THE SPEAKER OF MESSAGES AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Speaker informed the House that Mr David Kusilifu had been newly appointed as Clerk to

Parliament.

He then went on to make a few remarks regarding the roles of members of Parliament and encouraged

them to always bear in mind their primary constitutional functions as parliamentarians.

PRESENTATION OF PAPERS AND OF REPORTS

Mr David Kusilifu, Clerk to National Parliament presented the following papers:

Publication of 2019 National General Election Results.

(National Parliament Paper No.4 of 2019).

Gazette - Proclamation of the First Session of the Eleventh Parliament.

(National Parliament Paper No.5 of 2019).

ELECTION OF THE SPEAKER OF NATIONAL PARLIAMENT

The Clerk declared that on the closure of nominations for the Office of Speaker at 4:00 p.m. on Tuesday 14 May 2019, the following persons were nominated as candidates for the position of the Speaker of National

Parliament:

• Mr Patteson J. Oti, a former member of Parliament and the former Solomon Islands

High Commissioner to the Fiji Mission and;

• Mr. Ajilon Jasper Nasiu, former Premier and Speaker of the Rennell and Bellona

Provincial Assembly, and former Speaker to the National Parliament;

The Clerk presided over the election and announced the results as follows:

Mr Patteson J. Oti - 30

Mr Ajilon Jasper Nasiu - 15

Spoilt ballots - 3___

Total - 48

3

The Clerk announced that the candidate duly elected by Members of Parliament as the Speaker of the National Parliament of Solomon Islands with a majority of 15 votes is Mr Patteson J. Oti.

The Speaker congratulated Mr Patteson J. Oti on his being elected as the next Speaker of the honourable House.

Parliament suspended at 12:08 p.m. for 30 minutes.

Parliament resumed at 12:45 p.m.

The newly elected Speaker, Mr Patteson J. Oti made his appreciation remarks.

ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY SPEAKER OF NATIONAL PARLIAMENT

The Clerk announced that on the closure of nominations for the Office of Deputy Speaker at 4:00 p.m. on Tuesday 14 May 2019, only one nomination was received. The candidate was Hon. Stanley Festus Sofu. The Clerk then declared that Hon. Stanley Festus Sofu was duly elected unopposed as the Deputy Speaker of the 11th Parliament.

The Speaker on behalf of the House and its Members, congratulated and welcomed the new Deputy Speaker of the honourable House.

STATEMENT OF GOVERNMENT BUSINESS for the week ending Friday 17 May 2019 was announced by the Prime Minister.

MOTION

Motion of Special Adjournment

Hon. Manasseh Sogavare, Prime Minister moved:

"That at its adjournment on Wednesday 15th May 2019, Parliament shall be adjourned to Tuesday 4th June 2019."

The Prime Minister made his remarks.

Debate ensued and the following members contributed:

The Speaker made a ruling that although he understood that the Member of Parliament for Aoke/Langalanga was the intended candidate for the Office of the Leader of the Opposition, he had not yet received any validation from the Governor General and as such will not refer to him as Leader but only as a member of his respective constituency.

Hon. Matthew Wale - MP for Aoke/Langalanga

Hon. Peter Shanel Agovaka - Minister for Communication and Aviation & MP for Central

Guadalcanal

Hon. Jeremiah Manele - Minister for Foreign Affairs and External Trade & MP for

Hograno/Kia/Havulei

Hon. Robertson Galokale - Leader of the Independent Group & MP for South Choiseul

Hon. Stanley Festus Sofu - Deputy Speaker & MP for East Kwaio

Hon. Danny Philip - MP for South New Georgia/Rendova/Tetepare

Hon. Manasseh Maelanga - Minister for Infrastructure Development & MP for East

Malaita

Hon. Makario Tagini - MP for Baegu/Asifola

Hon. Clezy Rore - Minister for Commerce, Industries, Labour and Immigration

& MP for North Vella La Vella

Hon. Titus Mokofi Fika - MP for West Kwaio

Question put and passed.

ADJOURNMENT

The Prime Minister moved:

"That Parliament do now adjourn."

Question put and passed.

Parliament adjourned at 2:00 p.m. until 9:30 a.m. on Tuesday 4 June 2019.

Confirmed

Mr Ajilon Jasper Nasiu
Out-going Speaker of National Parliament

Confirmed

Mr Patteson John Oti Speaker of National Parliament

15 May 2019