National Parliament of Solomon Islands
  • Home



Yesterday marked the second milestone of the 11th Parliament of Solomon Islands with the election of the new Speaker to parliament and his Deputy and also the announcement of the new Clerk to Parliament, Mr. David Kusilifu on the first official session and sitting of the House for 2019.

The newly elected Speaker to parliament was elected to the prestige position of Speaker of the House after a secret ballot election in the chamber which resulted in a majority vote in favor of Mr. Patteson John Oti.

Outgoing Speaker to National Parliament Mr. Ajilon Jasper Nasiu congratulated Mr. Patteson John Oti on his appointment on the floor of parliament and thanked the members of parliament for their respect and cooperation during his term as the Speaker of the 10th House.

Mr. Patteson John Oti who hails from Nemba, Santa Cruz, Temotu Province was born on the 17th of January 1956 and is married with five children.

Mr. Patteson John Oti is no new face to the political scene and his experience and educational background speak volume of the wealth of his sure contribution as being the elected Speaker of the 11th Parliament of the Solomon Islands.

Following the Speakers election, Parliament then proceeded to the Election of Deputy Speaker whereby the Clerk declared that since Hon Stanly Festus Sofu was the only candidate nominated, he is duly elected unopposed as the Deputy Speaker.

Background information on the new Speaker of National Parliament:

Secondary and Tertiary Qualifications
1972 - 1977 – KGVI School, 0-level Secondary School Certificate, University of
1978 - 1982 – USP, Fiji, Bachelor of Arts Degree in History Politics and Public
1984 – Diplomatic Training, Canberra, Australia
1989 – Certificate in Diplomacy, Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts
University, Boston, USA

Public Service Career:
1983 – 1985 - Desk Officer/Pacific Section – Ministry of Foreign Affairs
1985 – 1986 - Planning Officer, Provincial Development Unit (PDU) – Ministry of
Economic Planning
1987 – 1989 - Principal Desk Officer – Ministry of Foreign Affairs
1990 - Acting Deputy Secretary – Ministry of Foreign Affairs
1991 - 1993 Permanent Secretary – Ministry of Provincial Government
1994 - Political Analyst – Office of the Prime Minister
1995 – 1997- Secretary to the Leader of Opposition

Parliamentary Service
1997 – 2010 - MP for Temotu Nende, Temotu Province

1997 – 2000 - Minister for Foreign Affairs
2004 – 2005 - Minister for Communication, Aviation & Meteorology
2006 – 2007 - Minister for Foreign Affairs, External Trade & Immigration

Other Parliamentary Appointments
2002 – 2003 Leader of the Parliamentary Opposition
2002 – 2003 Chairman Public Accounts Committee
2005 Deputy Speaker of Parliament
2009 Chairman, Special Select Committee on Parliamentary Privileges and
2009 – 2010 Chairman – Parliamentary House Committee

Non – Ministerial/Parliamentary Appointments
2005 – 2006 Chairman – National Trade Facilitation Committee – Ministry of
Commerce, Employment & Industry

2008 – 2010 Chairman – Environment Advisory Committee – Ministry of

Diplomatic Service
2010 – 2012 Solomon Islands Special Envoy to the Melanesian Spearhead Group

2012 – 2018 High Commissioner to the Republic of Fiji and non-resident High
Commissioner to the Republic of Vanuatu

Parliament will resume on the 4th of June, 2019.

Google Search



« December 2021

Upcoming events

  • No upcoming events available
Copyright 2007-2019. National Parliament of Solomon Islands