National Parliament of Solomon Islands
  • Home

Vision: To be a modern Parliament that fulfills its constitutional duties and effectively serves the people of Solomon Islands.

Parliament is adjourned until Wednesday 31st October 2018.  

Hon. David Sitai

Chair, Parliamentary House Committee

Constituency: East Makira, Makira Ulawa Province  

Contact Address:

National Parliament Office
P.O. Box G19
Solomon Islands.
Phone: +677 28520
Fax: +677 24272

Parliamentary Service

  • Elected to the National Parliament of Solomon Islands for East Makira Constituency on 24 October 1984. Re-elected on 28 February 1989, 26 May 1993, 6 August 1997, 5 December 2001 and 5 April 2006.

Parliamentary Committee Appointments

  • Chair, Parliamentary House Committee from 15 January 2008 to present
  • Member, Constitution Review Committee from 10 May 2006 to present

Ministerial Appointments

  • Minister for Foreign Affairs in 1996
  • Minister for National Planning and Development from 1994 to 1996


  • Attended a Post Graduate Course at Oxford University, UK
  • Bachelor of Arts Degree, University of the South Pacific (USP) 
  • King George VI School
  • Government Primary School Honiara

Occupation before entering Parliament

  • Joined Levers Pacific Plantation, Yandina as Trainee Manager and then resigned.
  • Public Service as an officer in the Foreign Affairs Department.
  • Transferred to Makira Province as Planning Officer and promoted to Provincial Secretary

Conferences, Delegations, Visits

  • Attended many international and regional conferences and seminars abroad and locally relating to government, private, NGOs and political issues


  • Year of birth: 1948
  • Village/ Home Island: Star Harbour, Makira


Google Search



« October 2018

Upcoming events

  • No upcoming events available
Copyright 2007-2018. National Parliament of Solomon Islands