National Parliament of Solomon Islands
  • Home

Vision: To be a modern Parliament that fulfills its constitutional duties and effectively serves the people of Solomon Islands.

Parliament is adjourned to Monday 23 July 2018.  

National Parliament of Solomon Islands

News and Information

Hon. Japhet Waipora

Constituency: West Makira, Makira Ulawa Province

Contact Address:

National Parliament
P.O. Box G19
Solomon Islands
Phone: +677 28520
Fax: +677 24272

Parliamentary Service

  • Elected to the National Parliament of Solomon Islands for Central Makira in 6 August 1997. Re-elected in 5 April 2006 for West Makira Constituency.

Ministerial Appointments

  • Minister for Provincial Government and Constituency Development from May 2006 to 21 December 2007
  • Minister for Provincial Government from 1997 to 2001

Other Appointments

  • Chairman of the Parliamentary Special Select Committee to investigate into the killing of 10 Kwaio Men at the Wheather Coast of Guadalcanal in 2004
  • Director of the Solomon Islands Postal Corporation


  • Attended Local and Provincial Government Training at the International Training Institute, Mosman, Sydney
  • Attended Su’u Senior School from 1961 to 1965
  • Attended Di’una Central School, Arosi II, Makira in 1961

Occupation before entering Parliament

  • Provincial Secretary from September 1993 to December 1995
  • Director of the State House Project from 1991 to 1992
  • Under Secretary and Acting Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Provincial Government from 1989 to 1990
  • Provincial Secretary of Guadalcanal Province in 1988
  • Provincial Secretary of Makira Ulawa Province from 1986 to 1987
  • Town Clerk of Honiara Town Council from 1984 to 1985
  • Senior Administrative Officer in the Prime Minister's Office in 1982
  • Provincial Secretary of Temotu Province from 1982 to 1983
  • Senior Administrative Officer of the Ministry of Trade, Industry and Labour in 1981
  • Senior Administrative Officer of the Ministry of Transport and Communications in 1980
  • Assistant Clerk to Isabel Council, Buala in 1978 to 1979
  • Assistant Clerk to Eastern Islands Council, Santa Cruz from 1975 to 1977
  • Clerk to Makira Council, Kirakira from 1972 to 1974
  • Local government Treasurer, Kirakira from 1966 to 1971


  • Awarded with Silver Medal for long and dedicated service to the Solomon Islands Government

Conferences, Delegations, Visits

  • Attended local government in the Pacific Meeting on behalf of Solomon Islands


  • Date of birth: 24 June 1943
  • Village/ Home Island: Waioto Village, West Bwauro, Makira Ulawa Province


Google Search



« July 2018

Upcoming events

  • No upcoming events available
Copyright 2007-2017. National Parliament of Solomon Islands