National Parliament of Solomon Islands
  • Home

Vision: To be a modern Parliament that fulfills its constitutional duties and effectively serves the people of Solomon Islands.

Vacancies Available

Parliamentary Strengthening Project



The Parliamentary Civic Education Unit (PCEU) will be taking Parliament down to the people of Isabel during the course of the province’s Kodili festival from 25th to 29th June 2018 in Buala.

The PCEU accepted the invitation to attend the Kodili festival since it is also part of its Education and Outreach program to educate and inform rural citizens in the provinces on the functions of Parliament, roles of Members of Parliament, separation of powers and professional supporting services of Parliament.

Men, women, boys and girls who will attend the festival are also urged to come and flock the Parliament stall in numbers to listen and learn more about our Parliamentary democracy.

To add a bit of excitement during the awareness program will be the screening of the Parliament DVD which will sum up our Parliamentary democracy. This include clips on functions of Parliament, responsibilities of MPs and professional supporting services of Parliament.

Taking Parliament to such a special occasion like Kodili festival is very important for ordinary Solomon Islanders, in this regard for Isabel people to hear from parliament what their MPs are doing in the big round house at Vavaya Ridge.

Furthermore, the outreach program will enable PCEU team to promote the rich and valuable information on our Parliamentary democracy to Isabel constituents and vice-versa to allow the CIVIC team to mingle, interact and learn in depth about the unique cultures and customs of the people of Isabel Province at the Kodili Festival.

Speaker of the National Parliament of Solomon Islands, Ajilon Jasper Nasiu once said in one of his speeches, that one of the many challenges of the Solomon Islands 21st century is that majority do not yet understand and appreciate the roles and functions of Parliament.

He said many still think that Parliament is the ruling government, which is not true.
Ajilon said, “As the national constitution outlines well, that there is separation of powers on the three arms of the state. Therefore, in order to understand this separation of powers, it is rewarding experience to engage with the general populace, through various civic activities and outreach program that will make them appreciate the mechanics of parliamentary procedures and processes and how these parliamentary mechanisms provide how the state governs its citizens.”

Last year the PCEU team had also took part in educating men, women, boys and girls about Parliament at the celebration of the 2nd appointed day of Guadalcanal Province and weaving festival.


Fifty (50) enthusiastic women across the eight Provinces of the Solomon Islands mostly met as strangers but now leave the Capital more enthused and empowered to participate as candidates in any general election following the fourth Practice Parliament for Women.

The exercise was primarily targeted at women who were considering standing for the National Elections or local elections, women community leaders who wished to develop their leadership, advocacy and policy skills as well as women who have committed to supporting gender equality.

“My participation this week has been quite significant and a lifetime achievement,” said Leader of the Independent MPs for the 2018 Practice Parliament for Women, Senoveva Mauli.

“The discussions during the training, and the level of substance brought out during the Parliamentary debate has been enriching. I am now seriously considering standing for the 2019 national elections after my experience this week.”

The Head of Vois Blo Mere Solomon, Josephine Teakeni, a partner for the Practice Parliament this week was impressed with the caliber of the participants.

“The 50 women participants were so committed throughout the week, and I am just overwhelmed with their preparation and performance at the Practice Parliament session today. I feel that women with the calibre showcased at the Practice Parliament today can and will get voted into Parliament,” said Teakeni.

The five-day event was carried out in two phases with the training and awareness raising carried out in the first four days, and the final day where participants use their newly acquired skills as they play the role of national members of their Parliament.

The Speaker of the National Parliament of the Solomon Islands, Mr. Honourable Ajilon Nasiu, acknowledged the enthusiasm of the participants and highlighted the importance of gender equality.

“Your participation further cements the commitment of the current government ensuring both Parliament and oversight institutions of this country recognize the importance of gender equality in all sectors of the country,” said MrHonourable Nasiu.

“I want to specifically thank the Solomon Islands Government for support towards this workshop. The current SIDCCG Government is a staunch supporter of gender to address problems & challenges relating to gender & human rights in this country and the pacific region.”

Adding her sentiments, the UNDP Solomon Islands Country Manager, Azusa Kubota, echoed the need for more women to participate in the democratic process and highlighted the innate ability of women to think more about the collective as a mark of quality leadership.

“In 15 of the Pacific countries where the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) works, there are only 42 women MPs out of 559 MPs altogether. This represents 7.5% representation. When women represent 50% of the society, this does not sound right,” she said.

“Women are often care takers in the family and communities. Women always put others interests before theirs. Women always think about collective good rather than individual gain.”

She added, “women therefore naturally have the quality to serve the people and represent the people in the Parliament.”

In selecting the participants, special efforts were made to target women leaders from outside of Honiara municipality/province, as well as targeting special groups.

The Practice Parliament for Women in the Solomon Islands was made possible through the UNDP Pacific Office in Fiji funding through two Pacific regional projects under the Effective Governance programme, namely the Strengthening Legislatures in the Pacific Island Countries Project (SLIP) Project funded by the Government of Japan, and the Pacific Parliamentary Effectiveness Initiative (PPEI), funded by the Government of New Zealand.

National partners for the event were the National Parliament of Solomon Islands, the Ministry of Women Youth Children and Family Affairs, the National Council of Women, Vois Blo Mere, Women’s Rights Action Movement, UNWomen and the Young Women’s Parliamentary Group.

Google Search



« February 2019

Upcoming events

  • No upcoming events available
Copyright 2007-2018. National Parliament of Solomon Islands